East-West Center Board of Governors

Board Chair

Mr. Richard Turbin
Founder and Senior Partner
Turbin Chu Heidt, Attorneys at Law
Honolulu, Hawaii

Board Vice Chairs

Ms. Margaret Carpenter
Former Senior Advisor to Secretary of State Clinton
Former Assistant Administrator for Asia & Near East Bureau, USAID
Washington, DC

Mr. R Brian Tsujimura
Ashford &Wriston, LLLP
Honolulu, Hawaii

Appointed by the Governor of Hawaii

Mr. Peter S. Ho
Chairman, President and CEO
Bank of Hawaii
Honolulu, Hawaii

The Honorable Ronald T.Y. Moon
Honolulu, Hawaii

Dr. James K. Scott
Punahou School
Honolulu, Hawaii

Appointed by the Secretary of State

The Honorable Jeffrey Bleich
CEO, Dentons Diplomatic Solutions
Dentons USLLP
Oakland, California

Dr. Kurt M. Campbell
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
The Asia Group, LLC
Washington, DC

Ms. Jennifer Park Stout
Head of Global Public Policy, Snap, Inc.
Arlington, Virginia

Ambassador Kirk Wagar (ret.)
Former Ambassador to the Republic of Singapore
Miami Shores, Florida

Elected Members

Dr. Mong Joon Chung
Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Asan Foundation
Honorary Chairman, The Asan Institute for Policy Studies
Seoul, Korea

Mr. Daniel R. Fung, SBS,SC,QC,JP
Des Voeux Chambers
Hong Kong

Mr. Chris Kanter
Founder of Sigma Sembada Group
Jakarta, Indonesia

Mr. Takeshi Niinami
President, Member of Board, Representative Director
Suntory Holdings, Ltd.
Tokyo, Japan

Mr. Ratan Tata
Tata Trusts
Mumbai, India

Ex-Officio Members

The Honorable David Y. Ige
Governor, State of Hawaii
Honolulu, Hawaii

Ms. Alyson Grunder
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy
Bureau for Educational and Cultural Affairs
U.S. Department of State
Washington, D.C.

Dr. David Lassner, PhD
University of Hawaii
Honolulu, Hawaii

East-West Association (Invited by the Board)

Dr. Edward Shultz, Ph.D., President, EWCA
Professor of Asian studies (retired)
University of Hawaii
Honolulu, Hawaii

East-West Center Foundation (Invited by the Board)

Mr. Keethe T. Koyanagi, Co-Chair, EWC Foundation Board
Senior Vice President
Credit Administration Division
First Hawaiian Bank
Honolulu, Hawaii

Mr. Russell J. Lau, Co-Chair, EWC Foundation Board
Vice Chairman, CEO
Finance Factors, Ltd.
Honolulu, Hawaii

East-West Center Officers

Dr. Richard R. Vuylsteke

Vice President for Development
Courtney Sakai

Mr. Ralph Carvalho

Assistant Treasurer
Mr. Clinton Nonaka

Corporate Secretary
Ms. Carleen G. Gumapac