EWCA 21st Century Outstanding Service Award


Nominations are now being accepted for the new EWCA 21st Century Outstanding Service Award.  This award recognizes East-West Center participants whose initial involvement in an EWC program was since 2000 and has provided outstanding service to the community.


The nominee has successfully completed the provisions of their first respective EWC participant award after the year 2000.  Current participants, EWC staff, sitting EWCA Executive Board members and Board of Governors members are ineligible.


  • The nominee has provided outstanding service to her/his community. “Community” may include a geographic area, a professional organization, or a network of organizations engaged in activities that strengthen intercultural understanding, economic and social empowerment or civic engagement;
  • The service provided may be voluntary or part of your professional responsibility, but the quality of service is evaluated as above and beyond normal expectations/standards.
  • In the event of equally qualified nominations, preference will be given to nominations submitted by EWCA chapters.

Nomination Method

  1. EWC staff, alumni and alumni chapters may nominate individuals.
  2. Nominations made by chapters should be submitted by the president or recognized leader on behalf of the chapter.  Please attach a list including the names and signatures of at least three association officers who endorse this nomination.
  3. Nominations submitted by individuals should be supported by at least three other EWC alumni. The names, signatures and contact information for each person supporting the nomination should be included.
  4. Please provide a narrative statement with the reasons for your nomination.  Nominations will be reviewed by the EWCA Nominating Committee and recommendations will be made to the EWCA Executive Board for final disposition.

Award Presentation

An appropriate certificate or plaque will be provided to the awardee/s during an EWCA event such as an EWCA Conference, EWCA Board Meeting, or Chapter Leaders Meeting.

Deadline for receipt of nominations

January 15. The nomination should provide sufficient information to clearly identify the nominee's contributions based on the criteria listed above. The nomination should be endorsed/signed by at least three EWCA alumni members.

Submit nominations to:

Office of Alumni Engagement, East-West Center, 1601 East-West Road, Honolulu, Hawaii 96848, Fax: 808-944-7212, or email to [email protected]


Past 21st Century Outstanding Service Awardees


Ms. Doreka Dai
(Pacific Islands Women in Leadership Program, 2013-2014)


Dr. Prerna Mona Khanna
(East-West Seminars: 06, 12, 14)

Mr. Siva Gopal Thaiyalan
(EP: Asia Pacific Leadership Program 15-16)


Mr. Glenn van Zutphen
(Media Program: Fall 2002 Jefferson Fellowship, 02;  East-West Seminars: 10, 12, 14)