EWC Seminars Live: The Future of Women in Afghanistan

share

This is a listing of older East-West Center events (newer listed first).  See Events to get the list of current or upcoming events.

When: Oct 12 2021 - 4:00pm until Oct 12 2021 - 5:30pm
Where: Online
What:

The Future of Women in Afghanistan

Tuesday, October 12, 2021 | 4:00 – 5:30pm Hawaii; 10:00 - 11:30pm Washington DC
Wednesday, October 13, 2021 | 10:00 - 11:30am Singapore; 7:30 - 9am New Delhi
Time Zone Converter

REGISTER NOW!

After 2001 when the Taliban lost control of Afghanistan, the rights of Afghan women increased significantly. They attended co-ed universities, joined the work force, reported the news, were elected to public office and held ministerial positions. But with the country again under the rule of the Taliban, who denied women and girls basic rights such as education, work and travel during the 1990s, their future looks bleak as restrictions on their lives mount. The Taliban recently announced an all-male government and said women should focus on giving birth and raising children. They ruled that universities will be gender-segregated and Islamic dress compulsory. Women journalists have been threatened and gone into hiding. Women protesters who have taken to the streets to demand equal rights have been met with violence by the Taliban.

This panel, which includes an Afghan journalist who fled her country after the Taliban regained control, will discuss what the future holds for women in Afghanistan and how the world can most effectively support them.

Panelists:  (listed in alphabetical order)

  • Anita BHATIA, Assistant Secretary General and Deputy Executive Director, UN Women, New York City, New York, USA @abhatiaunwomen
  • Samira HAMIDI, Regional Campaigner, South Asia Office, Amnesty International, Colombo, Sri Lanka @HuriaSamira
  • Farida NEKZAD, Director, Centre for Protection of Afghan Women Journalists
  • Roya RAHMANI, Former Afghanistan Ambassador to the U.S.; Senior Advisor, South Asia Center, Atlantic Council; and Distinguished Fellow, Institute for Women, Peace and Security, Georgetown University, Washington, DC, USA @RoyaRahmani


Moderator:

  • Dilrukshi HANDUNNETTI, Executive Director, Center for Investigative Reporting Sri Lanka, Colombo, Sri Lanka @DilrukshiH

 

Please check our webpage www.eastwestcenter.org/ewcseminarslive and follow us on Instagram @EWCSeminars for the latest updates!

 
Primary Contact Info: