Ho'opuka Celebration


This is a listing of older East-West Center events (newer listed first).  See Events to get the list of current or upcoming events.

Zoom Meeting

When: May 6 2021 - 2:00pm until May 6 2021 - 3:00pm

On behalf of Education Program, Dean Ann Hartman, cordially invites you to attend the Ho‘opuka to congratulate this year’s honorees, listed at the end of this invitation. 

The East-West Center has a tradition of holding a Ho‘opuka celebration to honor the participants who are completing their East-West Center awards. We will honor those “passing through an opening”—Ho‘opuka in Hawaiian—to begin a new journey on Thursday, May 6th, 2021, from 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM Hawaiian Standard Time (HST).  

The ceremony will be held over Zoom and if you would like to attend you must first register by following the directions at the provided link. 

Once your registration has been confirmed, you will receive a separate email containing a Zoom link for the ceremony. Please save this link and email. Note that this is a personalized link that will only work for you. It may take up to one business day for your registration to be confirmed and for you to receive your personalized Zoom link. The deadline to register as a guest is WednesdayMay 5th, at 4:00 PM.   

Additionally, we ask that you please create a sign with the word ‘love’ written in a language that is meaningful to you. We will ask you and other attendees to display their signs during our special opening performance. 

Please consider joining us and supporting your friends, listed below, who are completing their awards. This is a great chance to connect again, live, during this time of social and geographic distancing.    

With warm regards, 

The Education Program Team 

Amanda-Rose Bagadouwe, Ryan Blauvelt, Sabina Budhathoki, Leonard Billy Chite, Hin Fung Chung, Jacqueline Mary Dean, William Chen Dou, Vaibhavi Dwivedi 

Maata Mafi Amylynn Fakasieiki, Bonnie Fox, Natanya Friedheim, Khaliun Ganbaatar,Uyanga  Ganbat, Heather Ann Franquez Garrido, Amr Ghanem 

Mathew Goldberg, Nolan James  Grunska, Dalilah Nabilah binti  Haji Laidin, Chay Hok, Daniel Christopher Holden, Mohammed Didar Hossain 

Yao Huang, Shun Ishimine, Miglena Ivanova, Jie Jiang, Minji Jo, Renisha Karki, Kainoa Keanaaina, Layla Kilolu, Tatsuki Kohatsu, Cheng-Cheng Li, Zhaohao Liang 

Ci Yan Sara Loh, Shuo Luan, Camaren Ly, Kimery Lynch, Denis Melik Tangiyev, Rajeev Mishra, Sadaf Naeem, Xiaowa Nie, Katrina Obleada, Charles Ochhipinti 

Cameron Ogden-Fung, Choggan Pawai, Nicole Peltzer, Kanokon Rattanapon, Ryan Kawika Seisuke Ringuette, Natalie Roberts, Samraansh Sharma 

Sachin Shriwastav, Pratiksha Shukla, William Sirabis, Ratu Serupepeli Ravula Tagivakatini, Madhu Prasad Tiwari, Joshua Turner, Jenny Ung, Phuntsho Wangmo 

Kamuela Werner, William Wolff, Rachael Sook Zhen Wong 


Primary Contact Info:
Name: Sophie Sidhu
Phone: 808 944-7547