East-West Center Board Re-Appoints Richard Turbin as Chairman


Former US Assistant Secretary of State Kurt Campbell and
Punahou School President James Scott Chosen as Vice Chairs

HONOLULU (Oct. 17, 2017) –Members of the East-West Center’s Board of Governors have re-appointed Honolulu attorney Richard Turbin as the board’s Chairman for another one-year term. Turbin, a member of the board since 2011, has served as its Chairman since February 2016. At a meeting on Oct. 6, the board also selected former US Assistant Secretary of State for East Asia and Pacific Kurt Campbell and Punahou School President James Scott as Vice-Chairs.

Born in New York City, Turbin has been an attorney in Honolulu for close to 40 years and is a partner at the Turbin Chu Heidt law firm. He has served as President of the Hawai‘i State Bar Association, Chair of the American Bar Association’s Tort Trial and Insurance Practice Section, and a member of the Hawai‘i Civil Rights Commission. He currently serves as Chairman of the Wai‘alae-Kahala Neighborhood Board.

Dr. Kurt M. Campbell served as the Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian and Pacific Affairs 2009 to 2013, and he is widely credited as being a key architect of the “pivot to Asia.” He is currently Chairman and CEO of The Asia Group strategic advisory and capital management firm, as well as Chairman of the Center for a New American Security and a non-resident Fellow at Harvard’s Belfer Center.

Dr. James Kapae‘alii Scott became Punahou School’s 16th president in 1994, heading the largest coeducational, independent K-12 school on a single campus in the United States, with more than 3,700 students. He is also engaged in a variety of nonprofit and business leadership roles at the local and national levels.

The East-West Center Board of Governors consists of 18 members, including five appointed by the governor of Hawai‘i, five appointed by the U.S. secretary of state, five members from Asia and the Pacific Islands who are elected by the full board, and three ex-officio members who include the governor of Hawai‘i, the assistant secretary of state for educational and cultural affairs, and the president of the University of Hawai‘i. View a list of the current board members.