Gov. Ige Appoints John Waihe‘e and Lynn Miyahira to EWC Board of Governors


HONOLULU (April 30, 2020) – Hawai‘i Governor David Ige has appointed former Governor John Waihe‘e III and communications executive Lynn Miyahira to three-year terms as members of the East-West Center’s Board of Governors. They succeed outgoing Board members R. Brian Tsujimura and Richard Turbin.

John Waihe'e and Lynn MiyahiraFellow Board of Governors members and EWC management extended a warm welcome to the new members and a grateful farewell to the departing ones. “We are delighted and honored to have former Governor Waihe‘e and Ms. Miyahira join us on the East-West Center Board, and we offer our deepest thanks to the departing members for their leadership, service, and contributions during their years on the Board,” said Board Chairman Dr. James K. Scott. “We welcome the dynamic experience and vision that our new colleagues bring to the Board’s important mission of guiding this special institution forward.”

Governor John Waihe‘e III served as Hawai‘i’s fourth Governor from 1986 to 1994 and was the first US Governor of Native Hawaiian descent. Previously, he served a term in the Hawaiʻi State House of Representatives and was elected Lieutenant Governor under Governor George Ariyoshi. Since leaving office he has worked as a nationally prominent attorney.

Lynn K. Miyahira is an account executive with the Honolulu-based communications agency iQ 360 and was previously marketing director for the University of Hawai‘i’s Shidler College of Business. She is the current president of the Hawaii United Okinawa Association, a 40,000-member organization dedicated to perpetuation of Okinawan culture in Hawai‘i, including the annual Okinawan Festival, Hawai‘i’s largest ethnic celebration.

About the EWC Board of Governors
The East-West Center Board of Governors consists of 18 members. The Governor of Hawai‘i appoints five members, the US Secretary of State appoints five members, and these ten members in turn elect five members from Asia and the Pacific Islands. There are also three ex-officio members: the Governor of Hawai‘i or designee, the US Assistant Secretary of State for Educational and Cultural Affairs or designee, and the President of the University of Hawai‘i.