The APLP Alumni Community


"The world is smaller now because of the APLP. When I read in the newspaper about the events that occur around the world, I think of people I know and care about – true friends from the APLP – and I worry how current events will affect them." -Shanthini Black, Guam

Vinh Ho (2003) and Shanthini Black (2003) catch up in Vietnam 15 years after meeting.

How has the APLP impacted fellows personally and professionally?  Read what they have to say.

APLP Alumni Board 2017-2019

Each generation (G) elects one representative to the Alumni Board. The current board members are:

  • Melissa Pawneshing (G10), President
  • Ofeina Manuel Barbarich (G13), Vice-President
  • Elizabeth Milo (G16), Secretary
  • Blaine Baldwin (G5), Alumni Relations
  • Christina Monroe (G4), APLP Staff Liaison
  • Gretchen Alther, (G12), APLP Staff Liaison
  • Scott Coates (G11), Chair - Communications
  • Rutchelle Enriquez (G3), Chair - Fundraising
  • Cristina Veran (G7)
  • Shawn Hall (G8)
  • Azadeh Davari (G9)
  • Hafizur Rahman (G12)
  • Genie Nguyen (G14)
  • Padma Namgyal Ajita (G15)
  • Elizabeth Milo (G16)
  • Joyce Wong (G17)
  • Cynthia Chang (G18)

Nainoa Thompson Scholarship Fund

The Nainoa Thompson Scholarship Fund was founded by APLP alumni to provide scholarship support to meritorious APLP fellows who embody the spirit of Nainoa Thompson’s passion and dedication to community development. The scholarship(s) will provide funding which may support the awardee’s ongoing involvement in collaborative leadership, making a positive difference at the community level, and building community out of diversity. Funds are raised annually. The inaugural recipient, Mr. Lhobsang Pandan from Tibet, graduated in 2006. Subsequent Nainoa Thompson Scholars are: Linda Furuto (G6) from Hawaii; Huyen Truong (G7) from Vietnam; Dina Zenitha (G8) from Indonesia; Yongoe Kambue (G9) from Papua New Guinea; Tetsuji Matsumoto (G10) from Japan; Andrew Soh (G11) from Malaysia/Philippines; Mami Sato (G12) from Japan; Annalie Eddy (G13) from Philippines, Thao Phuong Nguyen (G14) from Vietnam, Kyomunim Padma Namgyal Ajita (G15) from India, Phanikumar Kadambari (G16) from India, and Erdenee Batzorig (G17) from Mongolia.  The current Nainoa Thompson Scholar is Sumita Sarma (G18) from India.

To donate to the fund, please click here.