A Vision for Economic Cooperation in East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea

by Lee-Jay Cho, Yoon Hyung Kim, and Chung H. Lee (eds.)

Tiger Books

Publisher: Seoul: Korea Development Institute
Available From: University of Hawaii Press and Korea Development Institute
Publication Date: May 2003
ISBN: 89-8063-157-X
Binding: paper


Three countries in East Asia—China, Japan, and South Korea—constitute one of the most dynamic economic regions in the world, but it is a region where formal regional machinery such as the European Union or NAFTA is yet to be established. The region may not be ready for such machinery yet, as some have argued, but there are many good reasons why the three East Asian countries should start now on a regional information infrastructure, a regional energy community, and a regional institution for financing infrastructure investment—are presented in this volume.