Southeast Asia in Transition: 2022 Webinar Series

share
 
In recent decades, people living in Southeast Asia have witnessed major shifts from predominantly subsistence agriculture to industrializing economies, with attendant changes in migration, crop production systems, and major infrastructure (roads, dams, industrial estates). This series of four webinars will explore how communities in the region are experiencing the economic, social, and cultural dislocations of these transformations. We will focus on forests, rivers, documentarians and writers, and Imaging Environmental Futures.
 
Registration links for the webinars in this series will be posted here as they become available. After each webinar, a link to the recording on YouTube will be posted.
 

Panel 1: February 22, 2022 HST - People and their Forest

Time: 2:00pm – 3:30pm HST | 7:00-8:30pm EST | 7:00-8:30am ICT (+1 day)

Speakers:

  • Ahmad Dhiaulhaq, Senior Researcher, Research Institute for Humanity and Nature
  • Micah R. Fisher, Fellow, East-West Center
  • Naw Pe Tha Law, Advocate, Chiang Mai
  • Courtney Work, Associate Professor, National Chengchi University

Moderator:

  • Daniel Ahlquist, Assistant Professor, Michigan State University

View recording on YouTube: https://youtu.be/GLhMZsANTyo

Panel 2: March 22, 2022 HST - Changing Lives of Southeast Asian Rivers

Time: 2:00pm – 3:30pm HST | 8:00-9:30pm EST* | 7:00-8:30am ICT (+1 day)

*Observing Daylight Saving Time

Speakers:

  • Dr. Rita Padawangi, Singapore University of Social Sciences
  • Ms. Pai Deetes, INGO International Rivers
  • Dr. Kanokwan Manorom, Ubon Ratchathani University
  • Dr. Ming Li Yong, East-West Center

Moderator:

  • Ms. Chayanis Krittadthaceewai Stockholm, Environment Institute in Bangkok

View recording on YouTube: https://youtu.be/1-mEjxk2HVM

Panel 3: April 26, 2022 HST - Chronicling transitions: Documentarians and Writers

Time: 2:00pm – 3:30pm HST | 8:00-9:30pm EST* | 7:00-8:30am ICT (+1 day)

*Observing Daylight Saving Time

Speakers:

  • Emily Hong, Assistant Professor & Documentarian, Haverford College
  • Kalyanee Mam, Documentarian & Storyteller
  • Tosca Santoso, Journalist, Author of Sarongge, & Coffee Farmer

Moderator:

  • Kelsey Wagner, PhD Candidate & Visual Artist, Michigan State University

View recording on YouTube : https://youtu.be/guNIlmEx7io

Panel 4: May 24, 2022 HST - Imagining Environmental Futures in SEA: Mekong 2030

Time: 2:00pm – 3:30pm HST | 8:00-9:30pm EST* | 7:00-8:30am ICT (+1 day)

*Observing Daylight Saving Time

Speakers:

  • Kulikar Sotho, Cambodia, Director, "Soul River"
  • Anysay Keola, Laos, Director, "The Che Brother"
  • Alex Curran-Cardarelli, Producer, MEKONG 2030
  • Sean Chadwell, Associate Producer, MEKONG 2030, and executive director of the Luang Prabang Film Festival

Registration link : https://eastwestcenter.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_K_bwWWXiT9qXVg3dhTua2g

 
Related to staff: 

See all current East-West Center Research Projects.