East-West Center's Gala Dinner

Dinner co-chairs Joan Bickson and Dr. Edison Miyawaki

At this year’s “An International Affair” dinner, the East-West Center celebrated the 55th anniversary of the Center.  Native Hawaiian master navigator Nainoa Thompson was honored with the presentation of the 2015 Asia Pacific Community Building Award for his dedication to strengthening the bonds of understanding among the people and nations of Asia, the Pacific, and the United States.

Over five-hundred fifty people attended the September 15th event at the Hilton Hawaiian Village Hotel Coral Ballroom.  Honorary dinner chairs were the Honorable Daniel Akaka, the Honorable George Ariyoshi, Sumi Makey, Puongpun Sananikone, and Maya Soetoro-Ng.  Leslie Wilcox served as master of ceremonies.

The dinner, co-chaired by Foundation Board members Dr. Edison Miyawaki and Joan Bickson, raised $116,000 for the East-West Center.  A portion of the proceeds will support student scholarships and East-West Center programs.

Thank you for supporting this year’s dinner.  It is with your help that the Center has continued to contribute to the building of a peaceful, prosperous, and just Asia Pacific region over the past 55 years.

Click here to view additional images from the event.

(L to R): Nainoa Thompson; East-West Center President, Charles E. Morrison; Chieko Morrison
Governor George Ariyoshi and Governor David Ige