Skip navigation


EWCA - Asian Studies Development Program (ASDP)

Region: Constituent/Special Interest

The ASDP Alumni Chapter was established to help ASDP program alumni support the Asian Studies Development Program in its efforts to enhance undergraduate teaching and learning about Asian cultures and societies, and to support the East-West Center (EWC) in its mission of contributing to the realization of a just, prosperous and equitable Asia-Pacific community. The ASDP Alumni Chapter cooperates with the East-West Center Association (EWCA) Executive Board and the EWC Alumni Association Office to promote activities and initiatives consistent with the EWC mission.

The ASDP Alumni Chapter was the first non-geographic, special interest alumni chapter and remains the largest chapter in the EWC Alumni Association. The general meeting of the ASDP Alumni Chapter is held annually in conjunction with the ASDP National Conference. The elected Chapter leadership includes a President and Vice-President (2-year terms), Secretary and Treasurer (5-year terms) and two Members-at-Large.

With volunteer assistance, the ASDP Alumni Chapter publishes an electronic newsletter that features news about ASDP alumni and programs, and other content relevant to expanding and enhancing undergraduate Asian studies.


ASDP Alumni Newsletter

The Asian Studies Development Program's Alumni Newsletter appears twice a year each Fall and Spring.  The available issues are listed below.

October 2014 Issue

October 2013 Issue

April 2013 Issue

October 2012 Issue

February 2012 Issue

November 2010 Issue

June 2010 Issue

November 2009 Issue

April 2009 Issue

November 2008 Issue

April 2008 Issue

October 2007 Issue



Chapter Leader

Jessica A. Sheetz-Nguyen, Ph.D.
(ASDP 03, 04, 07)
Professor of History
University of Central Oklahoma
LA 202D, Box 182
100 N. University Drive
Edmond, OK 73034
Phone: (405) 974-5451
If no answer, please call (405) 974-5277
Fax: (405) 974-3837

Chapter Officers

Jessica A. Sheetz-Nguyen, University of Central Oklahoma, President, 2014-2016
Dona Cady, Middlesex Community College, Vice President, 2013-2015
Roberta Adams, Roger Williams University, Secretary, 2011-2015
Pamela Herron, University of Texas at El Paso, Treasurer, 2014-2019
Dennis Arjo, Johnson County Community College, Member-at-Large, 2013-2015
Gordon Patterson, Florida Institute of Technology, Member-at-Large, 2014-2016
Eric Spears, Georgia College, Member-at-Large, 2014-2017
Jeffrey Dippmann, Central Washington University, ARCAS Representative, 2013-2015


Asian Studies Development Program Chapter By-Laws (amended April 22, 2014)

Asian Studies Development Program Chapter By-Laws (amended March 1, 2013)

March 2014 Chapter Report

In March 2014, the ASDP Alumni Chapter of the East West Center hosted its twentieth national conference in Houston, Texas. The event featured keynote speakers Dr. Michael Nylan, UC Berkeley, who spoke “On Friendship” from a Confucian perspective and Dr. Yasmin Saikia, University of Arizona, who recounted stories of Bangladeshi women caught up in the 1971 fields of war. We also heard from ASDP notables including Dr. Roger Ames, Dr. Betty Buck, and Dr. Peter Hershock. Over 140 members attended, with thirty panelists presenting papers. In addition, ASDP members accompanied Dr. Stanley Murashige to the Houston Gallery of Art for a review of the Asia collection and then they went on a tour of the new Asia Society Building. The ASDP Alumni Board of Directors and the Association of Regional Centers for Asian Studies held their annual board meetings concurrently with the conference. The ASDP Alumni Board changed its by-laws to increase the member at large positions from two to three and to extend the years of service for the important member-at-large positions. The chapter has set a goal for itself to acquire 501 c 3 status by the end of 2014. Looking to next year’s conference, the ASDP Alumni Chapter will work in conjunction with the Association of Regional Centers for Asian Studies to host the 2015 conference in Branson, MO scheduled for March 2015.

June 2013 Chapter Report

The ASDP Alumni Chapter (EWC) elected Dennis Arjo, Professor of Philosophy at Johnson County Community College, as our new member-at-large. According to the ASDP Alumni Chapter bylaws, he will serve a two-year term, 2013-2015.

The ASDP Alumni Chapter newsletter editor Rachana Sachdev (Professor of English at Susquehanna University) accepted the post of editor for the ASDP Alumni Chapter journal, East West Connections.

The ASDP Alumni Chapter has reserved the DoubleTree by Hilton on Greenway Plaza, Houston, Texas as the venue for the 13-15 March 2014 twentieth annual conference. Betty Buck (ASDP/East West Center) and Jessica Sheetz-Nguyen (President of the ASDP Alumni Chapter, University of Central Oklahoma) will serve as the conference coordinators. Conference chairs are Rachana Sachdev (Susquehanna University) and Sylvia Gray (Portland Community College). We would like to invite as many ASDP Alumni and members of the greater East West Center community at large to the Houston conference. Special guests include Roger Ames, Betty Buck, Rich Smith, and Stanley Murashige. Our keynote speaker will be Dr. Yasmin Saikia, Hardt – Nickachos Chair of Peace Studies at Arizona State University. Further updates on conference planning and events will be included in the next report.

Meeting Minutes

Minutes for March 14, 2014 meeting

Minutes for March 1, 2013 meeting

Minutes for March 31, 2012 meeting

Minutes for March 25, 2011 meeting

Minutes for June 30, 2010 meeting

Minutes for March 6, 2009 meeting

Minutes for March 8, 2008 meeting

Follow East-West Center:


Unless otherwise noted, all content © East-West Center. All rights reserved.